The Chugach Region of Alaska

CRRC Proudly Serves
Seven Tribal Villages

Click on Location for More Information

We, the Chugach Regional Resources Commission, acknowledge the land and waters of our people, the traditional homelands for over 10,000 years, and what we call the Chugach region. The Chugach region includes over 5,000 miles of coastline, over 50 named islands, and over 20,000 square miles of mountains. Today we have over 1,500 Tribal Members living in Chenega, Eyak, Nanwalek, Port Graham, Seward, Tatitlek, and Valdez, including Whittier and our oldest traditional village, Nuchek. These communities are found within the Lower Cook Inlet, Prince William Sound, and Lower Copper River area. Ungualartukut imamek taumi qut’mek – We survived by the ocean and beach. We also acknowledge the space and land CRRC utilizes for our Marine Institute in Seward, the ancestral land of the Qutekcak Native Tribe. This land was and continues to be of great importance to the Alutiiq/Sugpiaq people.

Learn More about Our People